Awards and Distinctions

Recent Updates

CIGRE U.S. National Committee members are the recipients of prestigious national and global recognition regularly. Explore awards and recipients below. Click here to download the 2023 Awards Booklet.

CIGRE U.S. National Committee

Attwood Associate Award

The Attwood Associate Award is given to an individual who has made notable contributions to CIGRE over an extended period of time.

“To honor the contributions and memory of Frederic Attwood of the U.S.A., who, with J. Tribot Laspiere of France, foresaw the need for an international organization in the field of high-voltage power engineering and who became the first chairman of the U.S. National Committee upon the founding of CIGRE in the year 1921.”

CIGRE U.S. National Committee

Philip Sporn Award

The Philip Sporn Award is given from time to time to a person who has had some affiliation with CIGRE and who is currently active.

“For cumulative career contributions to the advancement of the concept of system integration in the theory, design and/or operation of large, high voltage electric systems in the United States.”

CIGRE U.S. National Committee

Dale Douglass Award for Technical Advancement

For leadership and participation in CIGRE technical activities internationally at the Study Committee or Working Group levels aspiring to the level of dedication exhibited by Dale Douglass.



In 2016, this award was introduced in CIGRE. The CIGRE Medal is awarded for proven outstanding technical or engineering contribution to CIGRE and the engineering field, and proven leadership for the benefit of the organization. 2016 is the first time a member of the USNC will receive this award.


Distinguished Member Award

In 1996, a “Distinguished Member” status was introduced in CIGRE. This award is a tribute to seniority (over 10 years of membership) and to active participation in the work and development of the Association — within Study Committees and/or National Committees.


Technical Committee Award

The Technical Committee Award was initiated in CIGRE in 1993. It is generally given annually to recognize the outstanding contributions of a number of CIGRE Study Committee members to the work of their respective Study Committees.

CIGRE U.S. National Committee

Outstanding Collective Members

“For outstanding leadership and continuing managerial, technical, and financial support of the activities of the U.S. National Committee and CIGRE over an extended period of time.”

CIGRE U.S. National Committee

USNC Recognition Award

“A token of gratitude and in recognition of the work accomplished for the Association.”

CIGRE U.S. National Committee

USNC Special Recognition Award


CIGRE Fellow Award

The “CIGRE Fellow” award is attributed for active participation in the activities of the technical work of the study committees and for providing a lead technical role in the study committees (maximum five awards every two years).


Honorary Member Award

The title “Honorary Member” was initiated in 1992 and is the most prestigious designation to be given by CIGRE. It is awarded to members who have made significant contributions through their service on International Committees (CIGRE Steering Committee (formerly Executive Committee), Administrative Council, and/or Study Committees).


Women in Energy Award

The This award is intended to recognize outstanding contributions of WiE members to CIGRE activities.


NGN Significant Contribution Award

This award is intended to recognize outstanding contributions of Next Generation Network members to CIGRE activities.”