2019 Paper Competition

Recent Updates

On November 5, 2019, the winner of the fifth annual Next Generation Network (NGN) Paper Competition was determined. We are proud to announce our 2019 Grand Prize Winner, Sam McCormick!

Sam McCormick is a data scientist at Tagup, a startup headquartered in Boston developing novel machine learning methods to better predict failures and detect anomalous behavior in industrial equipment. He specializes in the development of survival modeling techniques designed to accurately estimate failure probability and remaining useful life for various types of industrial assets. Before starting at Tagup, Sam received a master’s degree in data science from Brown University. Sam’s winning paper was entitled “Using Machine Learning to Quantify the Impact of Weather on Transformer Failure Risk.”


[Winner] Sam McCormick – Tagup

Derek Kou – Dominion Energy

Lin Zhu – The University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Dongqi Wu – Texas A&M

Armando Figueroa-Acevedo – MISO Energy


Sam was awarded an honorary plaque form the Next Generation Network and will have travel and registration costs covered for our 2020 CIGRE General Session in Paris!


John McDonald – GE Grid Solutions

Mark McVey –  Dominion Energy

Manish Patel – Southern Company

Alyssa Blumenthal – Con Ed

Deepak Ramasubramanian – EPRI


Interested in entering our next competition and winning travel and registration costs to the 2022 CIGRE General Session in Paris? Information for our 2020 competition will be released in early 2020!

Please contact NGN at CIGRE-NGN@burnsmcd.com with any questions or clarifications.

About the Paper Competition

In 2015, the NGN held its first Paper Competition to encourage students and early professionals to share their experience and knowledge with others in the industry. The competition was successful in accomplishing this, as well as providing a great experience to all involved.

Results from Previous Years

2015   2016   2017   2018 


Pay Your 2024 Membership Dues

18-Month Special Offer for new members only

Starting JULY 1st, all new members joining will receive the remainder of 2023 with their 2024 membership.