With the continuing worldwide effort to deal with the on-going pandemic, the IEEE has decided today to hold a virtual PES Power General Meeting ( in lieu of a meeting in Montreal, Canada in August. As you know, we typically hold our Annual Members meeting in conjunction with this conference. Given today’s announcement, we have decided to hold the CIGRE USNC annual meeting in conjunction with this year’s Grid of the Future™ conference in Providence, Rhode Island on Tuesday, November 3rd. I encourage you to mark your calendars to attend this conference and this meeting.

It is our hope that things will be somewhat settled by this date but should they not then we will readjust as needed to ensure the safety of our members.

CIGRE 2020 Grid of the Future – DATE CHANGE!

Grid of the Future™ date has changed to November 1 – 4, 2020, in Providence, Rhode Island hosted by National Grid.

The Executive Committee after much deliberation has decided to delay this year’s Grid of the Future™ from October 18 – 21, 2020 to November 1 – 4, 2020. The location will remain the same and our host utility, National Grid, has a tremendous program planned for this year’s session.

This change is meant to prevent a conflict with the recent delay of the IEEE T&D conference dates and to provide more time to allow for our membership to hopefully return to normal operations.

We apologize for any issues this may create for you and hope you can join us for this year’s conference.

Congratulations to our 2019 Award Recipients

We’re excited to name our 2019 Awardees!


Attwood Associate Award: Michael Beehler, Neil M. Kirby, Amanda Olson, Stewart M. Ramsay, Harley W. Wilson



Philip Sporn Award: Mladen Kezunovic, Willis S. White



Outstanding Collective Member Award: Electric Power Research Institute, Texas A&M University College of Engineering, PJM Interconnection, LLC

2019 Membership Dues

Beginning November 1, 2018 the United States National Committee will begin collecting membership dues for 2019. October 31, 2018 is the last day to pay 2018 membership dues.