NGN Committee

Chris Mertz | Chair

Christopher.G.Mertz@dominionenergy.com

Chris Mertz joined Dominion Virginia Power after graduating from Virginia Tech with a Bachelor of Science degree in Electrical Engineering and a Master of Science degree in Electrical Engineering in 2011 and 2013, respectively.

Chris is presently an Engineer III in Dominion Virginia Power’s Electric Transmission – Operations Engineering group. Prior to joining the Operations Engineering team, Chris was a member of the System Protection Engineering group with roles including short circuit analysis and relay setting development for capital projects, automation of the short circuit analysis and project process, creating relay setting optimization tools, development of system protection standards, and development of NERC PRC compliance procedures.In his free time, Chris enjoys playing soccer, hiking, snowboarding, golfing, home brewing, shooting pool, and spending time with friends and family.

What I Love about CIGRE: CIGRE has given me the opportunity to meet and collaborate with professionals from various backgrounds and experiences. CIGRE has given me a broad insight into the technical and business challenges of the modern power systems industry, and also specific ideas and perspectives to help solve challenges at DVP. I have thoroughly enjoyed being part of the NGN for the past four years and look forward to my continued involvement with the CIGRE U.S. National Committee.

Alyssa Blementhal | Communications

blumenthala@conded.com

Alyson Rossini | Events

ALYSON.C.ROSSINI@leidos.com

Anthony Gicomoni | International Collaboration

anthony.giocomoni@pjm.com

Yazan Alsmadi | Marketing

ymalsmadi@aep.com

Mallory Droge | Membership

mkdroge@burnsmcd.com

David Roop | Mentoring

david.roop@meppi.com

Travis Heintzelman | Professional Development (Paper Competition)

trheintzelman@burnsmcd.com

Hassaan Idrees | Professional Development (Webinars)

hidrees@asu.edu

Nikia Munson | Social Media

nikia.munson@powereng.com

Sidharth (Sid) Ashok | Webmaster

sidharth.ashoke@nationalgrid.com