NGN Committee

Chris Mertz | Chair

Christopher.G.Mertz@dominionenergy.com

Chris Mertz joined Dominion Virginia Power after graduating from Virginia Tech with a Bachelor of Science degree in Electrical Engineering and a Master of Science degree in Electrical Engineering in 2011 and 2013, respectively.

Alyssa Blumenthal | Communications

blumenthala@coned.com

Alyssa Blumenthal is a Specialist in Con Edison’s Energy Efficiency & Demand Management department, where she manages evaluation activities for many of the department’s residential and commercial energy efficiency programs.

 

Deepak Ramasubramanian | Events

dramasubramanian@epri.com

Deepak Ramasubramanian is an Engineer/Scientist III at the Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI) in the Grid Operations and Planning Group of the Power Delivery and Utilization Sector.

Rebecca Hilderbrand | Events

rebecca.hilderbrand@pjm.com

Rebecca Hilderbrand joined PJM Interconnection after graduating from Lehigh University in 2018 with a Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering.

Anthony Giacomoni | International Collaboration

anthony.giacomoni@pjm.com

Anthony Giacomoni is a Senior Market Strategist in the Advanced Analytics Department of PJM Interconnection.

Natalie Tacka | International Collaboration

natalie.tacka@pjm.com

Cam VanLeuven | International Collaboration

camerson.vanleuven@powereng.com

Cameron Van Leuven received his bachelor’s and master’s degree in Electrical and Computer Engineering from Portland State University.

Yazan Alsmadi | Marketing

ymalsmadi@aep.com

Yazan M. Alsmadi (S’07–M’15) received the B.S. degree (summa cum laude) in electrical power engineering from Yarmouk University, Irbid, Jordan, in 2010.

Jenny Erwin | Marketing

jenny.erwin@smartwires.com

Jenny Erwin currently serves as Smart Wires Business Development Manager, responsible for strategic marketing of Smart Wires solutions globally.

Mallory Droge | Membership

mkdroge@burnsmcd.com

At Burns & McDonnell, Mallory’s role in the Substation department primarily involves utility consulting for both physical and protection & controls detailed design projects.

Morgan Hoffman | Membership

mlhoffman@burnsmcd.com

Morgan Hoffman joined Burns & McDonnell after graduating from Kansas State University with a Bachelor of Science degree in Electrical Engineering in 2015.

David Roop | Mentoring

david.roop@meppi.com

David Roop joined Mitsubishi Electric Power Products, Inc. (MEPPI) after receiving his Bachelor of Science degree in Electrical Engineering from Virginia Tech and Bachelor of Science degree in Physics from Radford University.

Paul Collins | Mentoring

paul.e.collins@leidos.com

Paul Collins joined Leidos after working for a few years at utilities. Paul is presently a Substation Engineer in the Power Delivery Group at Leidos.

Travis Heintzelman | Professional Development (Paper Competition)

trheintzelman@burnsmcd.com

Travis Heintzelman is a Staff Electrical Engineer at Burns & McDonnell in the Transmission and Distribution department.

Hassaan Idrees | Professional Development (Webinars)

hidrees@asu.edu

Hassaan Idrees holds undergraduate and graduate degrees in electrical engineering from National University of Sciences and Technology (NUST) and Arizona State University (ASU), respectively, the latter on Fulbright scholarship.

Joseph (JJ) Petti | Professional Development (Webinars)

joseph.j.petti@dominionenergy.com

Joseph Petti is a system protection engineer at Dominion Energy. His work focuses on the adoption of power electronic based power sources into the distribution system and their impact on protection schemes.

Nikia Munson | Social Media

nikia.munson@powereng.com

Nikia Munson is an electrical engineer who specializes in substation design.

 

Members-At-Large

Amanda Olson | akolson@burnsmcd.com

Amanda Olson is a Senior Electrical Engineer at Burns & McDonnell.  Amanda specializes in the design of electric power substations and substation physical security.